Edlingham, United Kingdom.Edlingham takes its name from Thomas de Edlingham, who owned this rural manor in the late 13th century. In 1295 William de Felton, a soldier and royal official, purchased the manor from Sir Thomas. De Felton was probably responsible for building a hall house here beside an earlier Norman church. Now both church and castle are overshadowed quite literally by a disused railway viaduct that seems to dominate the green valley floor, beside the slowly moving waters of Edlingham Burn.The early hall house was further fortified and surrounded by a curtain wall by de Felton's descendents, possibly as a response to raids by the Scots. Remains of the buildings within the outer wall include the hall, solar tower, and gatehouse.The hall is the earliest standing structure at Edlingham. This dates from the period 1295-1300. It almost certainly had vaulted cellars topped by a great hall, or living area. The hall was rectangular, with an octagonal turret at each corner. Only one of these turrets survives to any height, but it suggests a fairly modest building with aspirations of looking grand!At right angles to the hall is a domestic range, with the tower house at the rear of the complex. The tower house is now nearly free-standing, though it was originally connected to the hall by a passage. The tower is possibly the work of Sir Edmund Hastings, who inherited Edlingham in 1402. Historical records suggest that two families shared the castle, one in the tower and one occupying the hall. In 1514 the Swineburn family bought Edlingham and lived here until 1630, but by the end of the Civil War period the castle was derelict, and by 1661 the buildings were being used as a source of building stone. The castle has been in state hands since 1975 and is cared for by English Heritage.
MTAP - MikeyTAerialPhotography