Fritz Walter Stadion

Video no longer available.

Fritz Walter Stadion

1.FC Kaiserslautern/The Fritz-Walter-Stadion, then still called Sportplatz Betzenberg, got built in 1920. It initially consisted of one wooden stand, a sandy pitch, and changing facilities for the players.The Betzenberg officially opened on the 13th of May 1920 with a match between Kaiserslautern and FC Pfalz Ludwigshafen (0-2).In 1930, the wooden stand got destroyed in a heavy storm, which formed the prelude of a large redevelopment resulting in a new main stand and concrete terraces.The Betzenberg got further expanded in 1953 and at that time could hold just over 30,000 spectators.In the following decades, the club kept gradually expanding and modernising the stadium, with new stands at the long sides being opened in 1963 and 1973. After both ends had undergone extensive refurbishments in the late 1970s and mid 1980s, the redevelopment was complete and capacity had been raised to 38,000. At the same time the name of the stadium got changed to Fritz-Walter-Stadion.Kaiserslautern did not waste much time to start a new round of redevelopments though. A new North Stand opened in 1994, followed by a new South Stand in 1998.When the Fritz-Walter-Stadion got selected as a playing venue for the 2006 World Cup, another round of works started that expanded both ends in similar style of the South Stand.During the 2006 World Cup, the Fritz-Walter-Stadion hosted four group matches and the round of 16 match between Italy and Australia (2-1).Despite the name change, the stadium is still commonly referred to as Stadion Betzenberg.Fritz-Walter-Stadion, Fritz-Walter-Straße, Kaiserslautern, Germany/www.stadiumguide.com
599 16/01/2016 6
1 Star2 Star3 Star4 Star5 Star (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Recent videos added by: