Gwrych Castle sky

Gwrych Castle sky

Gwrych Castle sky Llanddulas and Rhyd-y-Foel, Wales, United Kingdom Gwrych Castle was built between 1812 and 1822 by Lloyd Hesketh Bamford-Hesketh as a memorial to his mother’s ancestors, the Lloyds of Gwrych. Upon the site was an Elizabethan house named ‘Y Fron (rounded hill) which by 1810 had fallen into dereliction. When Lloyd married Lady Emily Esther Ann Lygon, daughter of the 1st Earl of Beauchamp in 1825, the main building was complete.Many important architects and designers are associated with the castle and estate. For example, the expertise of Charles Augustus Busby and Thomas Rickman was utilised by Hesketh in the overall design of Gwrych, and in particular the cast iron windows. Henry Kennedy was employed to extend the Castle during the 1840’s by the inclusion of a new bedroom wing, staircase and porch whilst George Bullock and the Craces furnished the interiors.When Lloyd died the Castle passed onto Robert Bamford-Hesketh and his wife, Ellen Jones-Bateman. George Edmund Street designed the family’s chapel during the 1870’s and also several churches and schools for the Hesketh family. Robert and Ellen planted much of the present gardens with their enormous Monkey Puzzles and Yew trees.Winifred had been born an immensely wealthy heiress, the only surviving child of Robert Bamford-Hesketh. Abergele’s Gwrych Castle formed the core of this fortune, but the estate itself stretched across most of North Wales into Lancashire, Cheshire, Staffordshire and Derbyshire. gwrychtrust.co.uk

777 14/11/2016 6
1 Star2 Star3 Star4 Star5 Star (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Recent videos added by: