Video no longer available.
Phantom2 - Kilcrea Abbey.Cork, Ireland.Located just 5km from Ballincollig, County Cork, Kilcrea Franciscan Friary was founded in 1465 by Cormac Laidir MacCarthy, Lord of Muskerry, who was also responsible for building the castles at Kilcrea, Blarney and Dripsey. He was killed in 1494 and is buried at the friary.Under the protection of the MacCarthys, Kilcrea Friary remained inhabited during the 16th-century dissolution of the monasteries, but the late-19th century saw the end of the Franciscan tradition in Kilcrea.Today, visitors can view the unique multi-windowed sacristy and scriptorium, found to the north of the chancel, which is the most decorative part of the building. One of pillars supporting the arches in the nave of the friary church as Kilcrea had withdrawn to Cork city, from where they continued to minister occasionally in the Kilcrea area until 1815. The friary church with its tower and the friary itself are almost complete though some of the cut stone has been removed. The ruins are full of burials including Cormac, the founder. Away from the busy road, Kilcrea is a peaceful place in which to reflect. Plenty of flora and bird life can be admired amongst the ruins also.Although nothing remains of the cloister arcade, the buildings that surround it are well preserved.Located near Farran on the Cork to Bantry road, Kilcrea friary was founded by Cormac Láidir MacCarthaigh, Lord of Muskerry in 1465. The friary was protected from suppression by the MacCarthys until the friars were expelled in 1578. Returning in 1603, the friars were finally expelled in 1614. The friars continued to minister from their places of hiding but by 1766, the remaining friars.