Lighthouse Biloxi

Lighthouse Biloxi

Lighthouse in Biloxi Aerial View of Lighthouse in Biloxi, MS - Phantom 2 Vision Plus  Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS, United States Aerial view of lighthouse in Biloxi, MS. Filmed on 20 Aug 14 with Phantom 2 Vision+ The Biloxi Lighthouse was erected in 1848 and was one of the first cast-iron lighthouses in the South. It is the city’s signature landmark and has become a post-Katrina symbol of the city’s resolve and resilience. The light was civilian operated from 1848 to 1939, and is notable for its several female lightkeepers, including Maria Younghans, who tended the light for 53 years. In 1939, the U.S. Coast Guard assumed responsibility for the light’s operation. After being declared surplus property in 1968, the Biloxi Lighthouse was deeded to the City of Biloxi, which eventually opened it to public tours. The lighthouse has withstood many storms over the years. Katrina’s storm surge enveloped a third of the 64-foot tall lighthouse, and the constant pounding from the water and winds toppled many bricks that lined the interior of the cast iron tower. The storm’s winds also broke many of the windows in the light cupola and destroyed the structure’s electrical system In March 2010, the city re-opened the lighthouse to public tours after a 14-month, $400,000 restoration that was funded by FEMA and MEMA and completed by Biloxi contractor J.O. Collins CS Photography 360

Chad S - CS Photography 360

915 25/08/2014 1,345
1 Star2 Star3 Star4 Star5 Star (3 votes, average: 4.67 out of 5)
Loading...

Recent videos added by: