Dafni Euboea. The lowland village of North Evia is a short distance from the main road that leads from Chalkida to the Lake. A brief look back at the findings, we find the area inhabited centuries ago, while the history of the village of Daphne goes back to the years of the Turkish occupation. According to historians, the village was created in its present position by the movement of small settlements. The cultivation of fertile land, and the abundant vegetation for grazing herds, prompted the inhabitants to create it. During the revolution of 1821 it became a place of hostility for the Greek chieftains of northern Euboea. The origin of the name according to tradition comes from a large laurel tree next to the church of Agios Dimitrios. Daphne was formerly called "Manthana", there are two versions for this name. One is that it comes from the word "mandan" and means a workshop powered by water. The second version of the name originates from the Turkish word "maidan" which means "alan, simply" and "straight" (the phrase "he came to meintan" was used to indicate that he was expelled). This version is combined with the fertile plain of the area. Today the visitor of the village who has read his story will understand from the environment the nature of this fertile place. There are no sights beyond nature. It is worth visiting the old stone church of Saints Peter and Paul with the old fountain. Daphne is 150 meters above sea level.