Moni Agiou Georgiou Ilion. The monastery is located in a magnificent location on the small plateau of Valladouni in northwestern Evia, about two kilometers from the seaside village of Ilia. Efrosynos, according to tradition, was the first monk to practice in the catacomb of St. John the Baptist, John the Baptist, which existed before the Monastery, and which was discovered by vision of a good and very pious shepherd of the region. This historic Men's Monastery, founded in 1670, appears to have existed before the 16th century. The name "Ilia" came from the homonymous village. Since 1971 the monastery has been turned into a female. The monastery was built on the ruins of the temple of Hellenos (Phoebus), the ancient temple of Hellenic Apollo. The monastery has the usual shape of Byzantine monasteries, ie square. The wall paintings of the temple were destroyed. The iconostasis is unique wood-carved, of rare artistic value. The catacomb, under the Monastery, is called "Finding" (or "halo"), because there was an ancient and miraculous icon of Saint. Georgiou. Of the relics that the Monastery possessed, little has been saved, as is the case with the Library books. Monasteries and chapels of the Monastery: Ag. Charalambos, Evangelismos Theotokou, Ag. Anargyroi, Ag. Dimitriou, Ag. Apostles, Ag. Marines, Ag. Athanasius, the prophet Elijah, the blessed Taxiarches, Georgiou, Ag. Friday, Ag. Nicholas, Ag. Polychronia and Ag. Nina. Chapels of the monastery: Irene Chrysovalantou, Ag. Onoufriou and Ag. of Job. The monastery celebrates on April 23 (or on the third Easter day) and November 3.