Downhill Demesne

Downhill Demesne

Stunning Aerials of Downhill Demense & Mussenden Temple. Downhill Demesne and Hezlett House, Castlerock, United Kingdom.Mussenden Temple, Castlerock, United Kingdom. The word 'demesne' is used throughout Ireland. It indicates the part of the estate that was usually enclosed by a demesne wall and was for the use of the landowner only. His estate would have been much larger, including all the tenanted lands and may have been made up of parcels of land geographically isolated from each other.The demesne was situated around the house and normally included the home farm, woods, grazing and arable land, landscape park, deer park, walled garden and formal garden features.Downhill began to assume its present form around 1772 when Frederick Hervey (1730-1803) - known as the Earl Bishop from his twin titles of Earl of Bristol and Bishop of Derry - chose this spot to build a country house.The family history of the Earl-Bishop Frederick Hervey, is as colourful as he was himself - full of gossip and scandal. If it wasn't for him, the Herveys would only be known for their connection with Ickworth and Downhill Demesne wouldn't exist.The Bishop's Gate has a lovely Gothic gate lodge, and is the closest entrance to the gardens and the Black Glen. Have a look at the symbolic carvings, including a bishop's mitre and several cow skulls.Based on the Temple of Vesta in Italy, Mussenden Temple once held the Earl Bishop's library. It's perched right on the cliff edge, and the inscription reads 'Tis pleasant, safely to behold, from shore, the rolling ship and hear the tempest roar'.  cinematictide.com

cinematictide

323 28/12/2014 207
1 Star2 Star3 Star4 Star5 Star (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

Recent videos added by: