Fortress of Heptapyrgion

Fortress of Heptapyrgion

The Fortress of Heptapyrgion (eptapyrgio) also popularly known by its Ottoman Turkish name Yedi Kule, is a Byzantine and Ottoman-era fortress situated on the north-eastern corner of the Acropolis of Thessaloniki in Greece. Despite its name, which in both languages means "Fortress of Seven Towers", it features ten, and was probably named after the Yedikule Fortress in Constantinople (modern Istanbul, Turkey). It served as the major redoubt of the city's acropolis, as well as the seat of its garrison commander in Ottoman times, until the late 19th century. It was then converted to a prison (eptapyrgio' s pridon), which remained open until 1989. References to the infamous Yedi Kule prison abound in the Greek rebetika songs. Restoration and archaeological work began in the 1970s and continues to this day.During the 1890s, the fortress was converted into a prison. The exact date is not known with certainty, but the prison is mentioned in an 1899 map of the city, thus providing a terminus ante quem for the change. This conversion entailed the removal of all previous buildings in the fort's interior, of which no trace now survives. The fortifications themselves were only little modified, although their role was effectively reversed: designed to protect its residents from outside dangers, they know served to isolate the inmates from the outside world.The prison was for long the main penitentiary facility of the city, and housed all convicted, regardless of sex or crime. New buildings were built along both sides of the walls, to fulfil the various needs of the fort's new role. The interior courtyard was partitioned into five separate enclosures by fences radiating from a central watchtower. Three featured a two-storey building housing the cells and a guard post, while the other two held the prison chapel and other annexes. A fourth cell block was situated close to the north-eastern tower, and was destroyed during the Second World War. The exterior buildings, on the fort's southern side, housed the administration, the women's prison and, to the west, the isolation cells.The prison is well-known through its frequent occurrence in the underground rebetiko genre, and many songs feature its colloquial name, Yedi Kule. Ιt also acquired notoriety through its use to house political prisoners during the Metaxas Regime, the Axis Occupation of Greece, and in the post-war period from the Greek Civil War up to the Regime of the Colonels.

Το Φρούριο του Επταπυργίου, γνωστό και με την οθωμανική ονομασία Γεντί Κουλέ (Yedi Kule), βρίσκεται στο βορειοανατολικό άκρο των τειχών της Θεσσαλονίκης, εντός της Ακρόπολης. Αποτελείται από δύο ενότητες: το βυζαντινό φρούριο, το οποίο συνθέτουν δέκα πύργοι μεταξύ τους μεσοπύργια διαστήματα και τον περίδρομο, καθώς και τα νεότερα κτίσματα των φυλακών, που έχουν κτιστεί εντός κι εκτός του φρουρίου. Οι πύργοι της βόρειας πλευράς αποτελούν τμήματα του παλαιοχριστιανικού τείχους της Ακρόπολης, ενώ αυτοί της νότιας προστέθηκαν πιθανότατα κατά τους μεσοβυζαντινούς χρόνους, σχηματίζοντας τον κλειστό πυρήνα του φρουρίου.
Γύρω στο 1890 το μνημείο χρησιμοποιήθηκε ως ανδρικές, γυναικείες και στρατιωτικές φυλακές.Κατά τη δεκαετία του 1890, το φρούριο μετατράπηκε σε φυλακή. Η ακριβής ημερομηνία δεν είναι γνωστή με βεβαιότητα, αλλά η φυλακή αναφέρεται σε ένα χάρτη του 1899 της πόλης, παρέχοντας έτσι ένα terminus ante quem για την αλλαγή. Γι' αυτή τη μετατροπή συνεπάγεται η απομάκρυνση όλων των προηγούμενων κτιρίων στο εσωτερικό του κάστρου, από τα οποία κανένα ίχνος επιζεί σήμερα. Οι αλλαγές στις οχυρώσεις δεν ήταν σημαντικές, αν και ο πρωταρχικός τους ρόλος αντιστράφηκε: από την προστασία των κατοίκων από την εξωτερική απειλή, τώρα υπηρετούσε για την απομόνωση κρατουμένων από τον έξω κόσμο.
Η φυλακή διετέλεσε για καιρό τις κύριες εγκαταστάσεις σωφρονισμού της πόλης, όπου κρατούνταν φυλακισμένοι ανεξαρτήτως φύλου ή εγκλήματος. Νέα κτίρια χτίστηκαν κατά μήκος των δύο πλευρών των τειχών, ώστε να βελτιωθεί η λειτουργικότητα του νέου σωφρονιστικού κέντρου. Η εσωτερική αυλή ήταν χωρισμένη από φράχτες σε πέντε ξεχωριστές μονάδες και στο κέντρο τους στεγάστηκε το κεντρικό παρατηρητήριο. Η φυλακή διέθετε εκκλησάκι και άλλα παραρτήματα, ενώ το παράρτημα που βρισκόταν βόρειο-ανατολικό πύργο καταστράφηκε κατά τη διάρκεια του Δευτέρου Παγκοσμίου Πολέμου. Τα εξωτερικά κτίρια, στη νότια πλευρά του κάστρου, στεγαζόταν η διοίκηση, η φυλακή των γυναικών, και προς τα δυτικά, τα κελιά απομόνωσης.

101 10/01/2019 11
1 Star2 Star3 Star4 Star5 Star (4 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Recent videos added by: